Flexibubbles

 •  0 Comments

By

Man Opening Champagne
Source: philreid.com

Judging by the increasing amount of Christmas items for sale in dollar stores, fall is approaching. And when wine lovers think of fall, they think of refurbishing their cellar with bubbles. The wine market globalization opened the way for sparkling wines from across the world, wines of such quality and affordable prices that they could have had Champagne shaking in its boots, if not for this beverage’s already solid reputation and near-immediate association with celebration. But if the original sparkling wine did not seem, from the outside, to suffer from this outbreak, the reality was entirely different. Champange’s situation is rather unique and, one must admit, problematic: with prices already targeting the luxury market, and therefore difficult to raise, and an offer that’s almost impossible to increase as well, things are not exactly easy for Champagne. The CIVC has even determined, a few years ago, points of intervention that, according to its constituents, would guarantee Champagne’s place among luxury wines, all the while aiming at a certain growth. In the next few paragraphs, we will look head on at Champagne’s issues, and the solutions it wishes to bring. Being on top, for some, does not mean sitting on one’s laurels.

INCREASING THE PLANTABLE SURFACE?

Champagne’s main problem is to meet a growing demand without compromising product quality. There exists two territorial divisions in Champagne: first, there is the aire délimitée, which corresponds to the geographical zone on which champagne can be produced; then there is the zone de production, which corresponds to the actual vine-planted surface and on which winemaking and maturation facilities can be found. Why should we make a distinction between the two? Simple: to preserve the product’s identity.

ChampagneMs vines grow essentially on two types of soils: chalk and Kimmeridgean marl (same soil as in Chablis). But these soils are not found all over the Champagne region. Best example is Valley of the Marne, this near-perfect “V” that zigzags between Paris and Épernay along the river; near the water, alluvial soils are not planted in vine, but atop the slopes, where a chalky line is hidden under various types of soils, you will mainly find Pinot Meunier vines, with some Chardonnay and Pinot Noir here and there. Producing grapes along the river would change the aromatic profile of the wines too much so it is a non-starter.

vacancy
Source: overpassesforamerica.com

But here’s the rub: within the aire de production, pretty much everything that’s already either chalk or Kimmeridgean mark is already planted in vine.No room for anything else. So to produce more wine, the yield cap must be increased, or the weight of grapes required to produce one hectolitre of wine must be reduced.But high yields and heavily pressed grapes hardly ever rhyme with better juice, so there is a loss in quality. And for Champagne, in a market that’s more and more competitive (we will touch on that later), that’s out of the question.

The solution? Increase the aire de production, and not only maintain current yield and pressing limits, but make them more strict, so as to make no compromise on quality. Since 2003, about forty villages within the aire délimitée are being looked at to be added to Champagne’s aire de production. A thorough geological study has been made to determine if soils are of the appropriate nature to produce champagne. Some villages have already gotten the nod, with others waiting, but a three–year embargo has been imposed to whoever will receive CIVC and INOQ’s blessings before any vine can be planted. This way, in the next few years, there may be a little more champagne produced. But the problem does not end there…

Monopoly-Banker-with-Empty-Pockets-900x900
Source: yournewswire.com

DEMEURER AU SOMMET, RESTER COMPÉTITIFS

Despite the geographical limits Champagne faces, it managed to increase its production by a quarter in the last forty years. However, during the same period, the average price of champagne rose by less than 5%. The reason is simple: many countries, like Australia, the United States, Spain and Italy, have managed to make themselves an enviable niche on the sparkling wine market, by increasing the quality of their wines, the majority of which are made using the traditional method, hailing from Champagne, at ridiculous prices compared to the mother region. This way, ex-Champagne sparklers have made themselves a niche and stole the hearts of consumers wishing to celebrate lesser events or in a more modest fashion.

Champagne faces a choice: either lower its price and risk losing its luxury product status, or stay the course, staying in the premium price bracket, but risking to lose market shares if quality did not follow suit.

Champagne’s response was simple: Champange’s reputation and prices must remain intact. that, yet again, meant increasing production quality, while going on a marketing campaign to maintain Champagne’s high-end image in the light of the attack perpetrated by Cava, Prosecco and Tutti Quanti.

On the other hand, there exists a lobby that wishes Champagne adopted a classification system of its growths much like that of Burgundy; instead of seeing villages being named premier or grand cru, specific plots would be awards, for their particularities, this seal of excellence. It is easy to defend that such a classification, more complex and targeted, would allow Champagne to keep its status with little to no effort. So to speak.

Few regions work as hard as Champagne to maintain the superior quality status. Much different than Bordeaux, where laurels are long-imprinted with the biggest players’ ass groove. Some say the hardest thing to do is staying on top once you’ve reached it. Champagne gets this, and it works hard to keep the race lead. The day has not come where the region will be complacent enough to celebrate its success with its own bubbles.

swordfou
About the Author

Related Posts

Jess.

Source: jessicaharnois.com I’ve been meaning to talk to you about Jessica...

Source: sommfou.com We all know of an upholsterer. Someone who puts...

Reader’s mail (3)

The time has come for another rendez-vous with my readers, with their questions and...

Leave a Reply

Flexibulles

 •  0 Comments

By

Source: philreid.com
Source: philreid.com

À en juger par les articles de Noël déjà disponibles dans les Dollarama, l’automne approche. Et qui dit automne dans le monde des trippeux de vin dit il-est-temps-de-regarnir-sa-cave-de-bulles. La globalisation du marché du vin a fait en sorte d’ouvrir la voie à une multitude de vins effervescents dont la qualité et, surtout, le prix fort abordable, aurait tôt fait de mettre le champagne à mal, n’eut été de la solide réputation de ce breuvage classique, forcément associé à la célébration. Mais si le vin mousseux originel n’a pas semblé, de l’extérieur, souffrir de cette nouvelle concurrence, dans la réalité, il en est tout autrement. En fait, la situation de la région de la Champagne est assez unique et, il faut l’admettre, problématique: les prix sont déjà axés sur le marché de luxe, et donc difficiles à augmenter, et l’offre, elle aussi, est quasi impossible à faire grimper. Le CIVC a même déterminé, il y a de cela quelques années, de nouveaux axes d’intervention qui, selon elle, allaient garantir la place du champagne dans les vins de luxe, tout en lui permettant d’espérer une certaine croissance. Dans les lignes qui suivent, nous regarderons en face le problème de la Champagne, et les solutions qu’elle tente d’y apporter. Comme quoi ça n’est pas parce qu’on est au sommet qu’on peut s’asseoir sur ses lauriers.

ÉLARGIR LA SURFACE DE PLANTATION?

Le principal problème de la Champagne est de subvenir à la demande croissante sans compromettre la qualité du produit. Il existe deux divisions du territoire en Champagne: il y a d’abord l’aire délimitée, qui correspond à la zone géographique sur laquelle on peut produire du champagne; puis il y a la zone de production, qui correspond à la surface plantée en vigne et sur laquelle les chais de vinification et d’élevage se trouvent. Pourquoi faire la différence entre l’un et l’autre? Simple: pour préserver l’identité du produit.

Les deux principaux types de sols sur lesquels les vignes de Champagne poussent sont la craie et la marne du Kimméridgien (même sol qu’à Chablis). Or, ces sols ne sont pas présents sur toute la région champenoise. Le plus bel exemple de cela est la Vallée de la Marne, ce « v » presque parfait qui zigzague de Paris à Épernay le long de la rivière; sur le bord du cours d’eau, les sols alluviaux ne sont pas plantés en vigne, mais le haut des coteaux, où une ligne crayeuse est tapie sous une couche de sol de natures variées, on trouvera des ceps de pinot meunier principalement, avec du chardonay et du pinot noir ça et là. Produire du raisin dans les sols de bord de rivière changerait trop la composition organoleptique des vins qui en seraient issus, alors non.

Source: overpassesforamerica.com
Source: overpassesforamerica.com

Alors voici le hic: à l’intérieur même de l’aire de production, tout ce qui est craie ou kimméridgien est déjà planté en vigne. Pas de place pour autre chose. Alors pour produire davantage de vin, il faudrait augmenter le rendement plafond, ou encore réduire le poids-plancher de raisins admis pour produire un hectolitre de vin. Or, qui dit rendement élevé ou raisin pressé davantage dit moins bon jus, donc perte de qualité. Et ça, pour la Champagne, dans un marché de plus en plus compétitif (nous y reviendrons), il n’en est pas question.

La solution? Agrandir l’aire de production, et non seulement maintenir les limites actuelles de rendement et de pressurage, mais les rendre plus strictes, afin de ne faire aucun compromis de qualité. Depuis 2003, plus d’une quarantaine de communes qui se trouvent à l’intérieur de l’aire délimitée sont à l’étude afin d’être intégrées dans l’aire de production de champagne. Une étude géologique approfondie a été effectuée afin de déterminer si les sols sont de nature appropriée à la production de champagne. Quelques communes ont déjà reçu l’aval, et d’autres attendent, mais un embargo de trois ans est imposé à quiconque recevra l’assentiment du CIVC et de l’INOQ avant que la moindre vigne ne soit plantée. Ainsi, dans les prochaines années, il se produira juste un peu plus de champagne. Mais le problème ne s’arrête pas là…

Source: yournewswire.com
Source: yournewswire.com

DEMEURER AU SOMMET, RESTER COMPÉTITIFS

Malgré les limites géographiques auxquelles la Champagne fait face, elle a réussi à augmenter son volume de production du quart, sur une quarantaine d’années. Or, sur la même période, le prix du champagne, en moyenne, n’a augmenté que de moins de 5%. La raison est simple: beaucoup de pays, dont l’Australie, les États-Unis, l’Espagne et l’Italie, ont réussi à se faire une niche enviable sur le marché des vins effervescents, en produisant des vins à la qualité croissante, dont la majorité sont élaborés avec la méthode traditionnelle, originaire de Champagne, et ce à des prix ridicules comparativement à la région-phare. Ainsi, les vins effervescents hors-Champagne ont réussi à se bâtir une niche, volant la mise auprès des consommateurs désireux de souligner une occasion moindre, ou de célébrer plus modestement.

La Champagne a fait face à un choix: baisser ses prix et risquer de perdre son statut de produit de la niche luxueuse, ou maintenir le cap, en demeurant dans une tranche de prix supérieure, au risque de perdre des parts de marché si la qualité n’augmentait pas proportionnellement.

La réponse de la Champagne a été simple: le prix et la réputation de la Champagne doivent demeurer intacts. Ainsi, il fallait, une fois de plus, être davantage stricts dans les critères de production, tout en faisant une offensive massive de marketing pour maintenir l’image haut-de-gamme du champagne face à l’attaque des cava, prosecco et tutti quanti.

D’un autre côté, un lobby existe et manifeste le désir de voir la Champagne adopter un système de classification des crus semblable à celui de la Bourgogne, c’est-à-dire qu’au lieu de proclamer des villages premier ou grand cru, des parcelles précises et uniques dans leurs particularités seraient marquées de ces sceaux d’excellence. On peut facilement défendre l’idée qu’une telle classification, plus complexe et ciblée, permettrait à la Champagne de maintenir son statut sans trop d’efforts. Façon de parler, à tout le moins.

Peu de régions se débattent autant que la Champagne pour maintenir leur statut de vin de qualité supérieure. Bien différent de Bordeaux, où les lauriers sont depuis longtemps imprégnés de la marque du cul des plus grands. On dit que la chose la plus difficile est de demeurer au sommet lorsqu’on l’a atteint. La Champagne comprend cela, et bosse dur pour garder la tête de la course. Le jour n’est pas venu où elle se complaira à trinquer son succès à son propre jus.

swordfou
About the Author

Related Posts

Jess.

Source: jessicaharnois.com Ça faisait longtemps que je voulais vous jaser...

Source: sommfou.com On connaît tous un « renippeux ». Quelqu’un qui...

Voici venu le temps d’un autre rendez-vous avec mes lecteurs, avec leurs questions et...

Leave a Reply