Le Sommelier Fou

Choice A
Crédit photo: Valérie Rhême

DAVID PELLETIER

Since March of 2011, David Pelletier sees to the destiny of the lesommelierfou.com site. First and foremost an author, he decided to teach himself the discipline associated with the writing craft by (innocently) starting a wine blog, a topic he finds fascinating. Now, he’s stuck with it.

David drinks wine at your expense so as to critique it. He makes the deliberate choice of not rating the wines he tastes. He is a teacher by trade, and therefore there are damn limits to marking everything he touches.

His passion for wine started in the same fashion as for many people: through a damn Frenchman. He made him discover the splendours of cellared wine, and David never looked back since. In fact, him and the Frenchie don’t talk to each other anymore.

David currently studies to get his Level 4 Diploma from the Wine and Spirits Education Trust (WSET). you wonder how he finds the time to do it all? Him, too.

And as if this wasn’t enough, David also writes for serious publications, such as Vins & Vignobles, SAQ Cellier or Wine & Spirits Magazine.

TASTING NOTES COLLABORATORS

12434721_10156332249835375_1023408648_n
Crédit photo: Thibault Bernard

TANIA FUGÈRE

 

It took a few months working at the SAQ and a trip to France to make Tania Fugère dive into wine. The quest for the perfectly balanced wine quickly became an obsession for her. In France, where she was to perfect her French and pursue her History studies, Tania soon realized wine was a bigger passion for her. She completed her Level 2 & 3 WSET at l’École du Vin in Paris (with distinction).  Back in Montreal, she began to work at SAQ Signature, rubbing elbows with this world’s best drinks and helping out the thirsty clientele. A fierce taster (especially blind) and a Champagne aficionado, she dreams of sticking the MW initials to her name one day, but is currently content with pursuing her Level 4 WSET Diploma.

MANDI ROBERTSON

 

Self-proclaimed wine ambassador, Mandi Robertson is also completing her Level 4 WSET Diploma. In 2013, she earns a sommelier attestation from the Pearson School of Culinary Arts. Mandi has lots of experience with hosting private tasting event and wine clubs, and she also worked as a sommelier in Melbourne, Australia. Her ambition, drive and passion for wine drove her in all corners of the wine world, to deepen her knowledge and thicken her tasting portfolio. Her love for wine and all that surrounds it is deep, and she dreams of one day working at a winery and educating people about wine.

Mandi is the author of a blog called A Walk on the Wine Side.

IMG_1371
Crédit photo: Lightstreak Photo

Le Sommelier Fou

Crédit photo: Valérie Rhême
Crédit photo: Valérie Rhême

DAVID PELLETIER

Depuis mars 2011, David Pelletier voit à la destinée du site lesommelierfou.com. D’abord et avant tout auteur, il a décidé de s’inculquer la discipline du métier de l’écriture en partant (innocemment) un blogue sur le vin, chose qui le passionne. Maintenant, il est pogné avec.

David boit aussi du vin à vos dépens, afin d’en faire la critique. Il a fait le choix de ne pas accorder de note au vin. Dans la vraie vie, il est enseignant; il y a des maudites limites à continuer à donner des notes une fois son attention tournée vers le vin.

Sa passion pour le vin a débuté comme pour beaucoup de gens, avec un torrieux de Français. Celui-ci lui a fait découvrir les splendeurs des grands vins de garde, et David n’a jamais plus regardé en-arrière. D’ailleurs, lui et le Français ne se parlent plus.

David étudie présentement pour obtenir le diplôme de niveau 4 du Wine and Spirits Education Trust (WSET). Vous vous demandez où il trouve le temps pour tout faire ça? Lui aussi.

Et comme si ça n’était pas assez, David écrit aussi pour des publications sérieuses, comme Vins & Vignobles, SAQ Cellier et Wine & Spirits Magazine.

COLLABORATRICES AUX NOTES DE DÉGUSTATION

Crédit photo: Thibault Bernard
Crédit photo: Thibault Bernard

TANIA FUGÈRE

 

Il aura fallu qu’elle bosse quelques mois à la SAQ, ainsi qu’un voyage en France, pour faire plonger Tania Fugère dans le vin. La quête du vin à l’équilibre parfait est rapidement devenue une obsession pour elle. En France pour parfaire son français et poursuivre ses études en histoire, Tania s’est vite rendue compte que le vin la passionnait davantage. Elle a complété son WSET 2 et 3 à l’École du Vin de Paris (avec distinction).  À son retour à Montréal, elle a commencé à travailler à la SAQ Signature, côtoyant ainsi les plus beaux élixirs de ce monde et conseillant la clientèle. Une dégustatrice féroce (surtout à l’aveugle) et une féru du champagne, elle rêve de coller les initiales MW à son nom un jour, mais poursuit pour l’instant son diplôme de niveau 4 du WSET.

MANDI ROBERTSON

 

Ambassadrice auto-proclamée du vin, Mandi Robertson complète également son diplôme de niveau 4 du WSET. En 2013, elle obtient son attestation en sommellerie de la Pearson School of Culinary Arts. Forte d’animations privées ou dans les clubs de vin, Mandi a aussi travaillé comme sommelière à Melbourne, en Australie. Son ambition, sa détermination et sa passion pour le vin lui ont fait parcourir la planète vinicole, afin d’approfondir ses connaissances et de garnir son portefeuille de dégustations. Son amour pour le vin et tout ce qui l’entoure est profond et elle caresse le rêve d’un jour travailler dans un vignoble et d’éduquer les gens sur le vin.

Mandi est l’auteure du blogue A Walk on the Wine Side.

Crédit photo: Lightstreak Photo
Crédit photo: Lightstreak Photo