By

telmo
Source: sommfou.com

We all know of an upholsterer. Someone who puts antique furniture back into shape, but without taking its past allure away, without making them look modern. These folks take it upon themselves to give objects of the past their ancient lustre. They see the faded elegance, the beauty beyond the bruise, and bring it back to life.

Once they’re done, they sell it at market price. 😉

I’m kidding. Even if the last assertion is true of some (think of these house hunters that look for houses to renovate and sell back at barbaric prices, blowing up the real estate bubble at the same time), most upholsterers do it do resuscitate past beauty and reinvest it in the future. Ask Telmo Rodriguez, Spain’s vineyard “upholsterer” extraordinaire.

Much like Birichino’s John Locke and Alex Krause, Telmo Rodriguez finds his fun in bringing abandoned or historical vineyards to life, so as to give his region, la Rioja, its former allure. Nowadays at the SAQ, what we know about la Rioja is pretty much summed up in Tempranillo for reds and Viura for whites. On top of that, with the appellation system based on maturation, the focus is really on making cellar wines, in other words wines that, while being in some cases of great quality, do not express any particular location. Wines from Lopez de Heredia, as extraordinary as they may be, cannot really be considered terroir wines.

Telmo Rodriguez does have this beef against the SAQ: “Each time I come here and I see the Spanish wine offer, I struggle to find my marks; la Rioja is one of Spain’s greatest appellations. Some old appellations are resurfacing, but la Rioja, to me, remains the most beautiful… We know of a generic Rioja, but we know little of the deeper Rioja of its villages.”

This very opinionated character, very reminiscent of François Morissette both physically and intellectually, is fortunate enough to see to three unique domains in la Rioja: Lanzaga, Remelluri and Las Beatas. In his approach, he opts fro organic farming and prides himself in never having used a herbicide in his life, devoting his time to bringing “somewhereness” wines. “I admire what Lopez de Heredia does, but what they are showing us through their wines is their cellar. I would rather show you the mountain.” A mission, needless to say, at opposites with what is being done currently in the region

la-propiedad-2
Remelluri Source: remelluri.com

In this view, even though he uses it for his Remelluri wines, the notion of classification according to maturation does not move Telmo Rodriguez: “it’s not that I don’t find it interesting, it is uninteresting. It’s not enough for one to spend four years in a university and get a diploma to be considered intelligent. So that a wine spends so much years in a cellar tells me nothing of its quality. […] This being said, for Remelluri wines, I still use the maturation appellation; when you have a 16th century domain, what do you do with the buildings that were built in the 18th century? Do you throw them to the ground or leave them be, considering they are part of the domain?” That house is further established in the past than an appellation system does not seem like a sufficient reason to obliterate it to him, but to him, the most important inscription on his bottles, beyond reserva and gran reserva, is Remelluri, the origin.

rioja-alavesa-vineyards
Source: vinousgirl.wordpress.com

La Rioja from days of yore was also more than sixty grape varieties, a handful of which are still used in everyday wines today, on top of those that fell into oblivion under Tempranillo’s hegemony. However, Telmo Rodriguez more often than not prefers not to mention the origin or the proportions of the varieties he uses for his wines. Voluntary prudishness just to leave the origin in the full spotlight? Possible. However, Telmo Rodriguez has all this information, as he is not dealing with coplanted vineyards. He just chooses not to talk about it.

It applies to one of his most cherished vineyards, Las Beatas. His eyes light up when he speaks of this vineyard he had found, abandoned for about a century: “My father came with me, and right away he said “this is too much work, Telmo, it is not worth it…” But I could see this vineayrd’s “talent”, the possibilities.” In fact, the vineyard is now less than two hectares and sits on the side of a mountain, with various altitudes, aspects and grape varieties. The wine made from it is nothing short of grandiose, as you will be able to tell from the tasting notes on the left hand side.

The wines are undoubtedly convincing. Not just different: unique. Reasoned use of oak, never at the expense of fruit, a concentration that’s achieves without compromising natural expression, a latent complexity that reveals itself in acts, in an operatic way. You can hear la Callas at the back of your palate. Not one of those postmodern divas, but the one you occasionally forget, but makes you shiver every time she reveals herself. Because a beautiful voice transcends eras. Shouldn’t it be the same for wine?

swordfousquared

My thanks to Telmo Rodriguez and Trialto for the invite.

About the Author

Related Posts

Jess.

Source: jessicaharnois.com I’ve been meaning to talk to you about Jessica...

Flexibubbles

Source: philreid.com Judging by the increasing amount of Christmas items...

Reader’s mail (3)

The time has come for another rendez-vous with my readers, with their questions and...

Leave a Reply

By

Source: sommfou.com
Source: sommfou.com

On connaît tous un « renippeux ». Quelqu’un qui remet des meubles antiques en forme, sans pour autant leur enlever leur éclat d’antan, sans les rendre modernes. Ces gens prennent soin de redonner à ces objets du passé leur lustre de l’époque. Ils voient cette beauté fanée, le joli dans le magané, et le ramènent à la vie.

Après ça, ils peuvent revendre ça au prix du marché. 😉

Je déconne. Même si la dernière assertion est vraie de certains (pensons à ces chasseurs de maisons qui les rénovent pour les revendre à un prix barbare, gonflant la balloune immobilière par surcroît), la plupart des renippeux le font pour montrer que la valeur des choses du passé peut être réanimée et être investie dans le futur. Parlez-en à Telmo Rodriguez, « renippeux » ibérique de vignobles par excellence.

À la manière des John Locke et Alex Krause de Birichino, le plaisir de Telmo Rodriguez est de faire revivre des vignobles abandonnées ou historiques, afin de redonner à sa région de prédilection, la Rioja, son allure d’antan. De nos jours, en SAQ, ce que nous connaissons de la Rioja se résume, à toutes fins utiles, au tempranillo pour les rouges et au viura pour les blancs. De plus, avec le système d’appellation basé sur le vieillissement, l’incitatif est vraiment de faire des vins de cave, c’est-à-dire des vins qui, bien que certains soient de grande qualité, n’expriment aucune provenance particulière. Les vins de Lopez de Heredia, aussi extraordinaires soient-ils, ne peuvent réellement être considérés comme des vins de terroir.

Telmo Rodriguez fait ce reproche ouvert à la SAQ: « Chaque fois que je viens ici, et que je vois l’offre faite en termes de vins d’Espagne, je m’y reconnais bien peu; la Rioja est l’une des grandes appellations de l’Espagne. D’anciennes appellations refont surface, mais la Rioja, selon moi, demeure l’une des plus belles… On connaît une Rioja générique, mais on a une petite connaissance de la Rioja profonde, de ses villages. »

Ce personnage aux opinions bien arrêtées, qui n’est pas sans rappeler François Morissette tant physiquement qu’intellectuellement, a la chance de voir à trois domaines uniques en Rioja: Lanzaga, Remelluri et Las Beatas. Dans son approche, il privilégie la viticulture biologique, s’enorgueille de n’avoir jamais utilisé un herbicide de sa vie, et consacre son travail à offrir des vins de provenance. « J’admire ce que Lopez de Heredia fait, mais ce qu’ils nous montrent dans leurs vins, c’est leur cellier. Moi, je veux vous montrer la montagne. » Une mission, il va sans dire, assez contradictoire de ce qui se fait massivement dans la région.

Remelluri
Source: remelluri.com
Remelluri Source: remelluri.com

Dans cette optique, même s’il l’utilise pour ses vins de Remelluri, la notion de classification selon le vieillissement importe peu à Telmo Rodriguez: « ça n’est pas qu’elle ne m’intéresse pas, c’est qu’elle n’a aucun intérêt. Il ne suffit pas de passer quatre ans à l’université et d’obtenir un diplôme pour être intelligent. Ainsi, qu’un vin passe tant d’années en cave n’est en aucun cas une garantie de sa qualité. […] Ceci dit, pour les vins de Remelluri, j’utilise l’appellation de vieillissement; quand on est une maison du 16e siècle, que fait-on avec les bâtiments construits au 18e? On les met par terre ou on les laisse, considérant que ça fait partie de la maison? » Qu’un maison soit ancrée plus loin dans l’histoire qu’un système ne lui semble pas une raison suffisante de l’oblitérer, mais il demeure que pour lui, l’inscription la plus importante sur les bouteilles où l’on trouve les termes reserva et gran reserva, c’est Remelluri, la provenance.

Source: vinousgirl.wordpress.com
Source: vinousgirl.wordpress.com

La Rioja d’antan, c’était aussi plus de soixante cépages différents, dont la poignée toujours en usage aujourd’hui dans les vins de consommation courante, plus ceux qui sont tombés dans l’oubli sous l’hégémonie du tempranillo. Toutefois, Telmo Rodriguez préfère ne pas mentionner, autant que possible, l’identité ou la proportion des cépages qui composent ses vins. Pudeur volontaire afin de laisser toute la place à l’endroit? Possible. Cependant, Telmo Rodriguez connaît bien ces infos, car ses vignobles ne sont pas complantés. Il choisit simplement de ne pas en parler.

C’est le cas d’ailleurs de l’une de ses parcelles qui le rend le plus fier, Las Beatas. Ses yeux s’illuminent quand il parle de ce vignoble qu’il a trouvé à l’abandon depuis un siècle: « mon père est venu avec moi, et il a aussitôt dit « c’est trop de travail, Telmo, ça ne vaut pas la peine… » Or, j’ai vu le « talent » de cette parcelle, sa possibilité. » En effet, le vignoble qui fait aujourd’hui un peu moins de deux hectares se trouve à flanc de montagne, avec diverses altitudes, divers cépages et diverses orientations. Le vin qui en est issu est rien de moins que grand, comme vous pourrez le constater en consultant les notes de dégustation à gauche.

Les vins, nul doute, sont convaincants. Pas simplement différents: uniques. Usage raisonné du chêne, jamais au détriment du fruit, une concentration qui n’est pas atteint au compromis de l’expression naturelle, une complexité latente, qui finit par se dévoiler, en actes, de façon opératique. On entend la Callas au fond de notre palais. Non pas l’une de ces divas postmodernes, mais bien celle que l’on oublie à l’occasion, mais qui nous fait frémir chaque fois qu’elle se révèle. Parce qu’une belle voix transcende les époques. Ne devrait-il pas en être de même du vin?

swordfousquared

Merci à Telmo Rodriguez et à Trialto pour l’invitation.

About the Author

Related Posts

Jess.

Source: jessicaharnois.com Ça faisait longtemps que je voulais vous jaser...

Flexibulles

Source: philreid.com À en juger par les articles de Noël déjà disponibles...

Voici venu le temps d’un autre rendez-vous avec mes lecteurs, avec leurs questions et...

Leave a Reply